Notices

Buying Porsche from Different State

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2016, 07:13 PM
mikesgt3
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying Porsche from Different State

Hey guys, I am interested in buying a porsche from a different state and am just wondering if there are any issues that I will run in to. I am in California, car being bought from Texas. Will their be emissions problems or anything with the DMV? I have never done this before so just doing my research. Thank you for you help guys
Old 08-04-2016, 09:56 AM
Steve Jensen
Pro

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

If you are a AAA member from what I understand they will deal with the registration, etc. for you.

Of course, emissions and such will depend on what model/year car you are buying.
Old 08-04-2016, 10:03 AM
squid42
Burning Brakes

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts

Different inspection styles can be a problem.

Florida for example is really lax. You can buy a perfectly registered car in Florida that you cannot register in the stricter states. Just for starters some states do not allow any warning lights in the dashboard on, whatever the reason for the light.

I hear that cars are deliberately transferred to Florida for the purpose of selling them there when they have e.g. broken catalytic converters and the like.
Old 08-05-2016, 09:57 AM
Steve Jensen
Pro

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by squid42
Different inspection styles can be a problem.

Florida for example is really lax. You can buy a perfectly registered car in Florida that you cannot register in the stricter states. Just for starters some states do not allow any warning lights in the dashboard on, whatever the reason for the light.

I hear that cars are deliberately transferred to Florida for the purpose of selling them there when they have e.g. broken catalytic converters and the like.
We haven't had vehicle inspections here in Florida since the late 70s or maybe 1980
Old 08-08-2016, 01:27 PM
Kaduku
Instructor