Notices

PPI garage in Philadelphia

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2008, 12:58 PM
Boston911fan
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PPI garage in Philadelphia

Hi there, my name is Evan, I'm new to Rennlist, and I'm looking for my first 911. I located two 993 Cabriolets in Philadelphia at Holt Motorsports, and I'm flying down to see them on Friday. Could someone recommend a place for a pre-purchase inspection, somewhere that is unafilliated with Holt? Thanks for your help!
Old 07-08-2008, 12:19 AM
Obie1
Instructor

I bought my car from Holt and I had Dougherty Automotive (West Chester, PA) do the PPI. They do many of Holt's PPI but you do not need to worry. They have a good working relationship with Tim but in no way overlook issues because they deal with Holt. They are working for you and will provide a comprehensive report on the car. good luck.

JD
Old 07-08-2008, 08:25 AM
Boston911fan
Pro

Cool, thanks so much! I will look into it. As for Holt, what was your experience working with them? I am looking at two of the cars on their website. One is a Guards red/black 1997 C2 Cabriolet with 42k miles. The other is a Guards red/cashmere 1996 C2 Cabriolet with 20k miles. I am leaning toward the '96 because of the low mileage and the color combo. Tim Holt was willing to knock off 3 grand from his asking price, but I would still be paying a lot more than average for a C2 Cab. Did you get a good deal on yours, and if so, what's the secret? How has your '96 been? I've been told that it's a bit harder to upgrade software on the '96's. Anyway, I am flying down on Friday to check both of them out, and I will be making arrangements with a PPI garage soon. Since Dougherty is in West Chester, maybe I'll just stop by while I'm in town...I'll keep you posted. Thanks again!!!
Old 07-10-2008, 09:20 AM
Boston911fan
Pro