Notices

Wash mitt: wool vs microfiber

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2013, 02:08 PM
ard
Pro

Received 141 Likes on 91 Posts
Default Wash mitt: wool vs microfiber

I have a wool wash mitt bought from Griot some time back that is now ready to be replaced. I see that griot now offers microfiber mitts although others still offer wool mitts. What is the current thinking on wool vs microfiber mitts?

TIA

/alex
Old 04-07-2013, 10:51 AM
Monetthecat
Instructor

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

I've been using Griots micro-fiber mitts for a couple years and I love them. I have 2 of them. One for the top sections of the car and another for the bottom sections.

When done I toss them (separately) into the washing machine. Each spring I replace them, but only because I want something new and not because they are even close to being worn out.
Old 04-07-2013, 04:34 PM
Marine Blue
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 801 Likes on 465 Posts

I'm a fan of the heavy wool mitts mainly because they have much more surface area where dirt can be pulled away from the paint. I use microfiber mitts for the wheels although on the Spyder I've been using the Griots wool wheel mitt when I wash it.
Old 04-08-2013, 12:49 AM
SToronto
Rennlist Member

Received 1,121 Likes on 731 Posts

Been using microfibre for the past year, works well. However I've bought a wool type mitt, haven't tried it yet. Only bought it to try something new.
Old 04-11-2013, 08:04 PM
CORSASCHNELL
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Remember the old days of people using old T-shirts and dish soap to wash their cars?

I have a neighbor who still does, I have offered my help with proper car wash detergent, microfiber mitt and towels but he refuses. He thinks of cars as any appliance like the fridge in his garage.
Old 04-11-2013, 09:39 PM
Marine Blue
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 801 Likes on 465 Posts

Originally Posted by CORSASCHNELL
Remember the old days of people using old T-shirts and dish soap to wash their cars?