Notices

Step by step detail

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2007, 08:21 PM
normank
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Step by step detail

It's probably been asked before (and maybe answered), but can anyone give a step by step list of the products and procedures for a full detail (wash to final polish) using a PC. I have never done this before and do not want to do anything to ruin the finish. It's a 997 GT3 with a clear bra. All help will be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-25-2007, 10:18 PM
mooty
GT3 player par excellence
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 5,875 Likes on 2,404 Posts

high concentration of dawn (yes the dish soap) with water to strip off all wax.
wash it again with car shampoo.
dry with towel (everyone has their fav., i like 100% cotton large towels)
clay the car ( i use griot garage's clay and their speedshine as lubricant, mcquire and zymol are good as well)
shampoo car again with car shampoo rinse and dry completely.
with PC i run their machine polish 3 (fine grain) 2x
with pc i run machine polish 4 (finest grain) 2x
then wipe off excess, if polish dried, use speed shine to help wipe off.
then look over every inch of paint some area will stil have blemish, repeat above as needed.
then i hand apply P21S cleanser, wipe on wipe off, microfiber towel or 100% cotton tower (the red bordered 100% cotton from griots is great, you have to wash them 3x or so before they are really good)
finally i hand apply p21s carnuba to finish it off.

i prefer mequire pro series, zymol, griots and p21s.
i like carnuba wax for warmth, but others like zaino for a more briliant saran wrap type of cold shine, your pick.

you want to tape off the rain gutter, vent on hood/bumper, sun roof felt and other black stuff b/c your PC will be rubbing all over those and leave lint and wax if you dont tape them.