Chris White
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist Small
Business Sponsor

Received 36 Likes on 27 Posts
Default cloudy / blush paint

I thought I would float one out there for the detailing exerts -
I just picked up a 968 cab to add to my list (94 w 55k miles). I went over the paint (midnight blue pearl) with some 3m polish (machine) and then 3M hand glaze followed by some carnauba wax. I got rid of the minor swirls / scratches and the surface gloss is real nice - but the paint shows a blush or cloudy finish in some areas. The paint is original.

Any ideas? I am not a paint expert...I usually worry about the driving part - but this car is real sharp and worthy of a nice finish

Thanks
Old 06-19-2007, 01:15 PM
Anthony Orosco
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Chris White
I thought I would float one out there for the detailing exerts -
I just picked up a 968 cab to add to my list (94 w 55k miles). I went over the paint (midnight blue pearl) with some 3m polish (machine) and then 3M hand glaze followed by some carnauba wax. I got rid of the minor swirls / scratches and the surface gloss is real nice - but the paint shows a blush or cloudy finish in some areas. The paint is original.

Any ideas? I am not a paint expert...I usually worry about the driving part - but this car is real sharp and worthy of a nice finish

Thanks
Congrats on the find

Personally I think your problem may lie in the "glaze" application. I hate glazes, there is nothing good about them....I've never liked them, in short they suck! OKay, now that I have that out and everyone knows where I stand on that subject let me explain why.

Glazes, especially the 3M Hand Glaze, are loaded with oils intended to give a lot of gloss and also hide imperfections but this comes at a price of your sanity as those oils just "float" around on the top surface and get trapped between your paint and wax and they can cause these patches.