Notices

Color Sanding - How much paint is removed?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2007, 04:05 PM
tomcat
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Color Sanding - How much paint is removed?

How much paint comes off during color sanding (2000 grit) with compounding to remove scratches on a 20 year old with single stage black paint - hopefully as a percentage of a layer of paint.

I color sanded last year without any problems. Filled in some paint chips after foolishly driving behind some p-cars through some mountains covered with salt and gravel. Need to level out the applied touch up paint but am a little nervous about getting down to the primer.
Old 04-20-2007, 04:40 PM
TOGWT
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm not experienced enough to 'eye a paint thickness' that is measured in 1/0000th of an inch, and a percentage of that for most would be impossible to guess.

I would strongly suggest anyone undertaking colour-sanding should purchase a digital paint thickness gauge and take measurements before commencement, during and after the work. If you have already colour-sanded the paint surface I would not attempt it again without knowing how much clear coat there is, if you remove too much and breakthrough it will require a re-paint.

This kind of work should only be undertaken by a very experienced enthusiast or a professional detailer, the paint sections / panels that are difficult and involve risk are usually those that are close to the edges of a panel (as this is were paint is usually thinnest) or highly contoured areas. Flat areas like the trunk, hood or roof involve minimal risk.