Notices

Aluminium protection

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2005, 02:10 PM
Kolbjorn S
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Aluminium protection

Any ideas how best to protect freshly cleaned undercarriage aluminium parts, be it suspension parts, oil sump etc? They are covered in a black protective layer from factory, which obviously has its function in harsh climates, since in my experience "naked" aluminium turns dirty and difficult-to-clean fairly soon. I can think of regular coatings of WD40 (yes, it works), but are there any other products which are easy and handy to use, and perhaps longer-lasting as well?
Advice apreciated! Thanks!
Old 04-26-2005, 02:18 AM
Res Ips
Rennlist Member

Received 75 Likes on 52 Posts

Regular steam cleaning works very well. After steaming, protect with mild lubricant like you suggest.
Old 05-13-2005, 01:55 AM
Crazy Eddie

Rennlist Member

Received 69 Likes on 52 Posts
Default You may want to look at these

I have NO experience with these products
I was looking at them to do pretty much what you described
This company is pretty reputable and I have bought stuff from them in the past
Caswellplating.com
One of them is a bit expensive

Protect all your polished aluminum, stainless steel and chrome parts from oxidation and eliminate the need for repeat polishing. A kit covers 75 square feet. Easy to apply when following the instructions provided. Formulated for use on cars, trucks, boats motorcycles, engines, wheels and interior accessories. When applied properly ZoopSeal™ will:

Applications Of This Product

* A hybrid ceramic sealer that protects finishes for up to two years.

Related Products

* Aluminum Polishing Kit
* Chrome Polishing Kit
* ZoopSeal Cleaners, Polishes & Waxes

* Prevent dulling and oxidation
* Retain the polished brightness and luster of aluminum
* Eliminate the need for repeat polishing
* Be long lasting
* Will work on aluminum, brass, and stainless steel
* Be safe to use and environmentally friendly