Sponsored By:

Grinding Noise Below 25 MPH

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2024, 02:07 PM
mattvandyk
Intermediate

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Grinding Noise Below 25 MPH

New (3 days old) Turbo E-Hybrid w/ CCBs. This is my first time with CCBs and first time with a hybrid, so I don't know if this is the brakes or the hybrid system or what or if it's something to get checked out. But, basically, regardless of what mode I'm in and regardless of if I'm on the brake pedal or not, once the car decelerates to asbout 25 MPH, there is a light grinding noise (sort of like a slightly tinny white noise) when decelerating all the way through to 0 MPH. It does not get louder if I brake nor does it get quieter at any time. It's basically, anytime I'm sub 25 MPH, it's there.

Before I make a fool of myself with the dealer, is there a non-problem explanation for this?

Thanks!

--Matt
Old 08-17-2024, 04:19 PM
MaxLTV
Rennlist Member

Received 1,241 Likes on 609 Posts

It's the government-mandated noise to make sure you don't sneak up on an unsuspecting pedestrian. I'm not making this up, even though it sounds nonsensical. I hate it. It's way louder than a gas engine would make at the same speed, so WTF...
The following 2 users liked this post by MaxLTV:
daveo4porsche (08-18-2024), Palantir (08-19-2024)
Old 08-17-2024, 04:37 PM
mattvandyk
Intermediate

Originally Posted by MaxLTV
It's the government-mandated noise to make sure you don't sneak up on an unsuspecting pedestrian. I'm not making this up, even though it sounds nonsensical. I hate it. It's way louder than a gas engine would make at the same speed, so WTF...
Not that I don’t believe you, but that seems insane to me and this has the air of “snipe hunting”. Any chance you can shoot me a link? This seems unbelievable.
Old 08-18-2024, 09:00 AM
Schnave
Rennlist Member

Received 2,656 Likes on 1,386 Posts