Notices
Cayenne 955-957 2003-2010 1st Generation
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can someone please explain the low depreciation on the Diesel?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2015, 10:14 PM
Doug_B_928
Burning Brakes

Received 20 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Can someone please explain the low depreciation on the Diesel?

I'm truly happy for those who have purchased new diesels and who are facing relatively little depreciation. I'd be interested in buying a used diesel if they were approaching typical depreciation, which they, of course, are not. As an example, a local 2013 (inservice in late summer/early fall 2012) diesel that had an MSRP of $88,000 has 32,000 kms, and the ask is $73,000. By typical depreciation standards I believe it should sell in the mid-50s, but I'm no expert. Can someone please explain why the depreciation is so low on these cars? And, knowing the current situation can't last forever, when do you think they will start to depreciate at more "normal" levels?
Old 06-10-2015, 10:36 PM
pdxjim
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts

When I traded in my 13 for a 15, the sales manager said that used diesels do not spend much time on the lot !
Old 06-10-2015, 10:37 PM
wrinkledpants
Three Wheelin'

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I can't think of a single VAG/PAG diesel that had terrible depreciation. They've always held their value well compared to the gas versions.

Which makes me wonder why Audi doesn't have more diesels in their lineup. If the Allroad came in a diesel, we'd have one in the stable.
Old 06-10-2015, 10:47 PM
gnat
Nordschleife Master

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts