Notices
Cayenne 955-957 2003-2010 1st Generation
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Please Help! Headlights are OK! and are very dim when the car is on!

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2012, 11:54 PM
cayenneguy05
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please Help! Headlights are OK! and are very dim when the car is on!

Hey everyone! First of all I would like to introduce myself on this forum as it is my first time posting here. My name is Sebastian, and I own a 2005 Porsche Cayenne and a 1989 Porsche 928 S4.

I have ran into a little problem though. I took my 2005 Cayenne into the mechanic because my left headlight was very dim and then on the next 2 days my other headlight bulb was very dim also. I figured that the bulbs were no good so I changed them myself. They worked for about a few days until they have started being dim again. I thought it was the quality of the bulb but the mechanic who is an expertise in porsche had said that the bulbs were perfectly fine and that the problem was somewhere else.

I was wondering if someone knew what might be going on, as this has troubled me for the passed month and a half and I am desperately looking for a fix in this!

Hope in getting a response,

Cheers.
Old 10-18-2012, 01:25 AM
gnat
Nordschleife Master

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

Have your battery and alternator checked. They are the most common reason for electrical issues in any car. If one or both are starting to fail all kinds of weird stuff starts happening in modern cars.

Don't just test the battery. A bad alternator can kill an otherwise good battery so just replacing the battery without knowing the state of the alt could lead to needing another battery soon. If its still the factory battery though then my money would be on just needing a new one.