Used Cayenne buyers guide?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2005, 07:56 PM
curveraider
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Used Cayenne buyers guide?

Hello Pepper drivers,

I am coming across from the 993 board. I am considering a Cayenne as a second car/tow vehicle. I have very little knowledge of the Cayenne. From what I have read, it appears that I should be looking for a V8 with air suspension. Is there a list of items that could or known to go wrong with the truck? I assume that the '03 have more bugs then the '04 or '05's, is that the case? Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Old 10-07-2005, 11:41 AM
Michael S.
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Arlen,

Welcome! I too am a 993 owner and very recently purchased a slightly used Cayenne S (only 8k miles). So far, so good (already over 12k)... no major problems & I love driving my pepper!

I shopped for a couple of years and drove several Cayennes and Touregs (including both V6 and V8's) before deciding to buy... What I ended up shopping for was Cayenne S with air suspension and the nav system. It took a while, but I found exactly what I wanted and couldn't be happier! Well, maybe a turbo would make me happier, but I just couldn't swing the extra $20k.

The newer the model, the fewer problems you will have with it... in theory at least. Also, these beasts are expensive to maintain, so a vehicle with factory warranty remaining should be a big consideration.

Good luck with your serach!
Old 10-07-2005, 12:24 PM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
A few random thoughts/comments (all of which can be further researched via the Search function in this forum):

1. I don't think you want to purchase a Cayenne with a date of manufacture on/prior to September 2003.