Sponsored by:

Towing

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2005, 01:29 PM
UberXY
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Towing

I know that on paper the Cayenne has good towing numbers, but that is usually only part of the picture for a good tow vehicle. Does anyone here have any real life experience towing enclosed trailers with a Cayenne, perhaps in the 25-30 foot range and about 6500 lbs? Is it stable?

Thanks,

Ub
99 996
76 930
64 356C race
64 356C street
02 Excursion Diesel, Towmeister.
Old 07-01-2005, 02:22 PM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Myself and rennlist user 'skl' both tow 20' enclosed aluminum V-nose trailers with a Cayenne S. IIRC, we both have PASM equipped Cayennes.
There are also some members of the forum who tow boats, motorcycle trailers, etc.

My trailer (2400#) and Cup car (2700#)is about #5400 total (tools, tires, fuel, etc) or so. I have had no bad experiences with stability. You are aware of the load, but it doesn't cause any concerns.
Mileage is about 10-11mpg, so the 26 gallon tank is good for about 200 miles or so before you begin to think about a fueling stop.
There are currently no OEM tow mirror/extentions, so it looks like **** universal clip ons are the only available solution.
There have been previous posts regarding installing electric brake controllers...very straight forward plug in install (unless you go with a Prodigy, in which case there is a small difference...again, it has been discussed and documented here).

I will not mention "Check Trailer Lights "!"

That having been said, I would prefer to use my bride's 2005 Ford Excursion PowerStroke (which I use when the Cayenne is in the shop....often)...she traded in her 2000 when we found out that 2005 was the last year.
With the X, you have ZERO idea you're towing, it has proper towing mirrors standard and with a 44 gallon tank, I can go from Boston to Watkins Glen without even worrying about stopping.