Sponsored by:

Looking for some pointers

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2019, 12:43 AM
Burnt McGurnt
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Looking for some pointers

I'm still learning about my new-to-me 2010 GTS and have been kicking around some ideas without resolve. I would appreciate your advice, experiences, or just your $0.02 on whether you think good/bad/it's been done before and where you think you saw it posted:
  • Engine management for tuning, diagnostics. Durametrics is ok for diagnostics and making a few selectable adjustments but generally is pretty weak (if looking from a Japanese import tuner's perspective from 10yrs ago) and the Ebay OBDII style's leave even more to be desired. i have only seen one EM that they would send general tunes for whatever mods you had completed. What gives- are cayenne ECUs open or closed source?
  • Other than the factory settings and selections, is there a way to control the differentials and
    • send more power bias fore or aft?
    • Lock/ unlock selectively?
    • Any aftermarket/oem-sourceable controllers from some other platform's special edition model which did?
  • The air compressor will not pressurize the tank unless the engine is running. The simplest resolve may be to use a patch hose and an external compressor to temporarily recharge the system when possible for suspension height adjustment during repairs. Has anyone tried alternatively powering the onboard compressor so it has power? The key would be in the same "Run" position - what's actually preventing it from turning itself on at low pressure and no engine rpm's? This may be a Q for the Touareg forums as It would be a nice option for offroad and camping use.

Thanks all for the replies.

Last edited by Burnt McGurnt; 08-24-2019 at 06:57 AM.
Old 08-24-2019, 03:43 PM
NelaK
Pro

Received 46 Likes on 37 Posts

Originally Posted by Burnt McGurnt