"Barn Find" 37K Mile '97 Boxster - Questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2016, 07:47 PM
MrSlacker
Rennlist Member

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default "Barn Find" 37K Mile '97 Boxster - Questions

Hey guys,

I just picked up a 1997 Boxster 5 speed with only 37K miles on it. It appears that the car was parked since 2009! It runs and drives great. No visible oil leaks (will investigate further when the car gets here this weekend).

The problem is I have no idea if IMS has been done. Checking CarFax history it does have this:

2004: Engine Checked, Engine cover removed and reinstalled

But of course doesn't say "recall" or anything like that.

What should I check overall when I get the car? Any ways I can check if IMS was replaced or not?

I am new to 986 and this car just fell into my lap so I appreciate all the help!

Last edited by MrSlacker; 07-29-2016 at 08:45 PM.
Old 07-29-2016, 08:38 PM
Tcar
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well, for starters, 1997 Boxsters did not have 6 speeds from the factory. That tranny appeared in 2000 with the Boxster S and the 3.2 L.

So it's a 5 speed with a 2.5 L or it's been diddled with. (Not necessarily a bad thing.)

The only way to tell about the IMS is if there is certified paperwork with a serial number for the bearing, or a transmission drop to actually look at the end of the bearing.
Old 07-29-2016, 08:45 PM
MrSlacker
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by Tcar
Well, for starters, 1997 Boxsters did not have 6 speeds from the factory. That tranny appeared in 2000 with the Boxster S and the 3.2 L.

So it's a 5 speed with a 2.5 L or it's been diddled with. (Not necessarily a bad thing.)

The only way to tell about the IMS is if there is certified paperwork with a serial number for the bearing, or a transmission drop to actually look at the end of the bearing.
My apologies, I meant 5 speed. Edited my original post.
Old 07-29-2016, 08:49 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts