Sponsored by:

987.2 as a daily driver in LA?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2016, 03:24 PM
Cb4d
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 987.2 as a daily driver in LA?

I've had my eye set on a Boxster (used) for years now and I'm finally in a position to pick one up. I'm curious what the consensus is on using the Boxster as a daily driver, particularly in a traffic-clogged city like Los Angeles. Ideally I'd love to get a 987.2 with low-ish mileage and a cheap commuter but it'll be a year or two before I can swing having tow cars. So for at least the first year or so, the Boxster would be my DD.

I worry about putting unnecessary wear and tear on the car and increasing maintenance costs. (Granted my commute is only 20 miles round trip.) For those of you who daily your Boxster, what's your experience like?

I'm new to the Porsche world and crazy excited to finally own one. I just want to do it right.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.
Old 07-18-2016, 04:01 PM
Disaster
Intermediate

Great DD, but it might leave you stranded without a backup. Uber?
Old 07-18-2016, 04:13 PM
zedcat
Rennlist Member

Received 410 Likes on 295 Posts

Which trans-6MT or PDK? I drive my 987.2 (Cayman R) 6MT in Houston traffic occasionally and would not want to do it every day. PDK would be different.
Old 07-18-2016, 04:23 PM
Cb4d
AutoX

Likely a manual. I'm not opposed to the PDK, as certainly it would be better in LA traffic.

It would be a base Boxster, not an S.
Old 07-18-2016, 05:18 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 254 Likes on 224 Posts

Originally Posted by Cb4d