Sponsored by:

Considering used Boxster ...

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2016, 10:35 PM
wquiles
Rennlist Member

Received 35 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Considering used Boxster ...

Hi there, newbie here. Call it mid-life crisis, but I am seriously looking at an used Porsche.

A friend of mine had an 2007 Cayman S, and now owns a 2014 Cayman S (PDK, PASM, etc.). Co-worker has older Cayman S, and another one has a 2011 911 (PDK, PASM, etc.). So I got them trying to "help me out", sort of speak

Sports car wise, I have owned a Camaro Z28, Miata, and 2002 M3 (SMG). I then had kids, and as a result how drive two family sedans (Acura TL & Infiniti G37). The Acura is almost paid, so I am planing on using that monthly budget towards the Porsche. My current budget is in the $15K range (I know, not a lot!), maybe close to upper teens to $20K).

I live here in the Dallas area, so I started to look for local cars so that I can try them first hand. My friends all said to go for the "S" model, but there are fewer of those, so today I test drove (all of them manual - not considering an auto!):
- 2006 Cayman S (19K miles, immaculate, with only 19.5K miles!)
- 2007 Boxster (base) 55K miles
- 2008 Boxster (base) 60K miles

Feedback so far:
- Loved the mid-engine sound on both cars. Quite glorious, even more in the Boxster. With the top down the Boxster sounds great, even if not at speed, while the Cayman was a little bit more muted.
- Loved the 6-speed / clutch on the Cayman S more than the 5-speed on the Boxsters.
- Brakes on the two Boxsters did not felt as good/strong as the ones in the Cayman S.
- They all felt pretty firm, maybe even a little harsh on bad/poor city roads, but none had the PASM to try. It was (quite honestly) a little too harsh on city driving - I would love a "slightly" softer/more compliant ride for a daily driver since I do 80/20% city/highway driving (hence my comment later below about PASM).