Window not returning to closed position

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2016, 12:40 AM
carmine986
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Window not returning to closed position

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie who recently acquired a 98 Boxster and took it to the dealership to get a new set of keys programmed (I believe that the key that came with it was an original and the remote stopped working).

After leaving the dealership and reaching my destination I opened the passenger side door and the window lowered as normal. Once I closed the door I noticed that the window did not go back into position. I opened the door again and the window lowered another couple inches.
When I use the switch to manually adjust the window it will only raise and lower in about 2" increments.

It seems like the window is failing to remember what it's closed position is.

To make a long story short:
The dealership will not take responsibility and they are unable to determine what is the cause
I was presented with a $1000 estimate in parts

Has anyone seen this before?
I have tried reseting the windows (all the way up and hold the switch; all the way down and hold the switch) and unhooking the negative on the battery without any luck.

Could this be a bad motor, regulator, microswitch, or door latch?

I really appreciate any ideas or advice so that the dealership does not take me for a ride.

Thank you!
Old 01-23-2016, 11:36 AM
Bossy Pants
AutoX

Try opening the roof latch and sticking your finger into the microswitch and gently pushing it in, try the window while you are holding the microswitch in and see if it closes. Mine does what yours is doing occasionally and that usually gets it working. The microswitch is behind the big hook on the top latch.
Old 01-23-2016, 10:19 PM
carmine986
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by Bossy Pants