Sponsored by:

Oversteer... some BTDT

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2013, 04:56 PM
gfl
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Oversteer... some BTDT

Car - 2000 S track car, that i've just recently completed restoring and building for track. New control arms, bushings, solid toe links, PSS9s, chassis stiffening, good track alignment (as much camber as can be gotten with zero cross camber).

Track street tires (BFG Rivals) 225/45 F 255/40-R. Note this is not stock and is intended to reduce understeer. I get it.

Car drives very well overall.

let's start with i'm an engineer and pretty familiar with the theory, but less so with the model specific black art.

Bottom line, in AutoX, the car showed a tendency to break away at the rear. Not terribly, but clearly the tendency, which seems odd for a boxster. Not just me either, it was very tail happy in the hands of a national-level competitor. He admits he may have simply been over-driving a softer car set up for track not AX ( juts back from WG which is kinda like driving on the surface of the moon).

I did neglect one thing in the rebuild (since fixed) that could explain it - the front sway bar bushings were original while the rears were new, which is in effect making the front softer - oversteer. SO the problem may be fixed - i have nto had an environment to find out since replacing them.

Experience on how others' cars have behaved and what tuning has resulted in maybe surprising effects appreciated.

Grant
Old 08-20-2013, 09:50 PM
DOUGLAP1
Rennlist Member

Received 47 Likes on 34 Posts

In my experience these cars are fairly sensetive to set-up. I have had my car go from neutral to oversteer after just a few clicks on my coilover settings. As you noted too much rear roll stiffness can easily do it too. You might want to try disconnecting the rear bar on one side, and safety wire the end link so it does not flop around to see if that helps.