Sponsored by:

2001 Porsche Boxster

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2012, 01:10 AM
The Bartender
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Porsche Boxster

I've been lurking on this forum for a while - some really good info. Really good knowledge being passed around.

I'm still a newb compared to most of you so here is my question:

Would I be getting myself into trouble buying a 2001 Porsche Boxster with 112,000 miles on it? Is that too much?

For some background, I work at home and have put about 10,000 on my car over the last four years. I'm just wondering if it's wishful thinking to think that maintenance wouldn't be so crazy on the Boxster since I don't drive it that much. I do drive regularly, so the car wouldn't be sitting in a garage for months ever, but I just don't drive that far. Everything I need is close by.

What kind of maintenance would I be looking at around that time? Are Boxsters a money pit when they get in that range? What should have my mechanic inspect when I get him to look at the car?

Any insight is appreciated. Thanks.
Old 09-14-2012, 12:23 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

Originally Posted by The Bartender
I've been lurking on this forum for a while - some really good info. Really good knowledge being passed around.

I'm still a newb compared to most of you so here is my question:

Would I be getting myself into trouble buying a 2001 Porsche Boxster with 112,000 miles on it? Is that too much?

For some background, I work at home and have put about 10,000 on my car over the last four years. I'm just wondering if it's wishful thinking to think that maintenance wouldn't be so crazy on the Boxster since I don't drive it that much. I do drive regularly, so the car wouldn't be sitting in a garage for months ever, but I just don't drive that far. Everything I need is close by.