Sponsored by:

New Owner and a couple of questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2008, 09:06 PM
Slimwear
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Owner and a couple of questions

I’ve been shopping for a new toy for a few months and after looking at a lot of cars I bought a 2003 Boxster S about 2 weeks ago. I couldn’t happier with the purchase and I thought I’d offer up some of my thoughts at this early stage of ownership and ask a few questions along the way.

My father owns a 1998 Boxster and although I’ve only driven it a few times I knew a little of what to expect. My only real requirements were that the car had a manual transmission (which my dad’s does not) and, as the process went on, I decided that I wanted an “S” (mainly for the engine but I do like the look of the interior trim and clear indicator lenses). The car I bought did have a few extras that I valued like the Bose stereo with changer and 18” Carrera wheels which I really fell in love with. The car is silver with grey interior.

So my early driving impressions are…WOW! One of the great things about driving this car is that my daily driver is a Honda Element. I love the Honda (maybe the most useful car I’ve owned) but not for its cornering ability so driving the Boxster off the lot and onto the on-ramp to 75 in Atlanta was quite a refreshing change. First question, does the clutch make a small electronic ‘beep’ sound when depressed or is that just a squeak on my car (I suspect a squeak)?