Sponsored by:

Auto-crossing and the BoxterS anti-lock

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2006, 03:53 PM
Astockboxta
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Auto-crossing and the BoxterS anti-lock

Im checking to see if anyone else has had this problem. I a-x my S car and have the normal anti-lock stopping power,you know where you have to push thru the lack of stopping ability with excessive pedal pressure.But this past weekend at the SCCA Pro-Solo I ran completely thru 2 walls of cones because the brakes went into "ICE" mode. No matter how HARD I pushed on the pedal,the car did ZERO slowing down...it felt as if it sped up.The tires did not slide to my knowledge.

I have 25 years of experience in all kinds of cars,so I think I have enough talent to correct driver error (maybe)... I run Double adj LEDA shocks,R-compound tires,stock bars front and rear.M030 springs. I drove a WRX that scared me half to death a month ago that did the same thing....I told that guy to sell it before it killed him !! He said he just got used to it... Now I have the same problem !! Is this a reprogramming issue? or will different pads help?

I have just started running this car by the way...

If not....its for sale !! in whole or parts.....
John B
Old 04-10-2006, 04:50 PM
Drew_K
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I've never heard of this problem, but is it possible that the issue is cause by running different diameter tires? I don't know much about ABS systems, but I wonder if the car gets confused if you run different diameters then OEM, or different diameters front to rear.

A less than ideal solution might be to disable the ABS by pulling the fuse/relay, if there is one.
Old 04-10-2006, 05:06 PM
Astockboxta
AutoX

And that method is Illegal... =( in stock class.

Actually the tires are same as stock in diameter... front and rear.
Old 04-10-2006, 10:02 PM
Leeds Gulick
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post