Notices
Boxster & Boxster S (986) Forum 1996-2004
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone ever skip scheduled maintenance service?

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2005, 05:10 PM
winzeke
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Anyone ever skip scheduled maintenance service?

Guys... need some help here.

I just bought a '99 boxster with 60k miles on it and I realized that it is due for a major 60k miles maintenance service. The problem is I am a student and $800 for a service is a lot of money to me...( I know.... should't have bought a porsche in the first place).

I am just wondering.... would you guys go for the complete major maintenance service or have a shop do only some of the important stuffs like change oil, change belt... etc. Cause some of the stuffs in the maintenance are just visual inspections of this and that.... I was hoping to cut the cost into about half of it. Is it possible?
Old 12-14-2005, 06:07 PM
CarsRGood
Advanced

I'd still do it if not immediately. Try to get a recommendation for a good independent shop that will do it for less.
Old 12-14-2005, 06:14 PM
rbennett
Drifting

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

If the car is not under warranty, which a 99 probably is not.

You can do the service yourself, just do a search on google "Do it yourself 30k service" Porsche and you will find articles published about this.

The main things is the oil, belt and maybe the spark plugs, all other stuff is mainly check points.

Which you could make a judegment call on if the part needs replaced.

This of course is if your mechanicaly inclined.
Old 12-14-2005, 06:18 PM
dennis a from pa
Instructor

..at 60 K, you should be looking into the oil separator too, as well as serpentine belt.

Both can be done in YOUR garage if you are even only a fair wrencher. In fact all of the 60K can be done by you..savings are big if you do it.If your're a car guy, learn to work on them..it ain't brain surgery.
Old 12-15-2005, 03:41 AM
winzeke
4th Gear