Sponsored by:

Air Bag light won't go off.

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2023, 05:03 PM
Jerry238
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Bag light won't go off.

Hi everyone, I'm new to Porsche ownership. I have a 2002 986 Base Manual. I've only owned the car about a year and absolutely love it (my first one, I'm 73). I changed the water pump and belt recently. I slid the passenger seat forward to gain access. I did not remove it. Fired right up problem fixed, but now the air bag light is on. I have a Porsche specific code reader by Icarsoft. It wouldn't reset the air bag light. Took it to a dealer, they couldn't reset it, they tried 2 or 3 different processes or machines to attempt reset. I don't know if the air bag will still work with light on, but I want it to work. I thought maybe there was a connector that came undone under the seat. I now have the seat out, and there is one lose connector not attached to anything but taped so tightly to others, it won't reach any other connectors. My car does not have heated seats. The loose connector has 2 wires going to it, brown and brown/orange. There is an empty socket on plastic housing mounted to seat, but I'm not sure that's where it goes. I'm afraid that's for the addition of heated seats. I just don't want to pull a rookie mistake. Can anyone help me please, either how to turn off the light, or find out if something is unplugged by moving the seat forward. I wouldn't think so, but.... Thanks, Jerry

connector attached to seat

connector attached to car. Is this for air bag, or heated seats. I don't have a manual or wiring diagram. Thanks, Jerry
Old 08-15-2023, 11:17 PM
Dr. C
Instructor

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

I could be mistaken, but the connector you discovered could be for the Porsche Child Seat deactivation bar.

https://www.pelicanparts.com/techart...Child_Seat.htm