Notices
Boxster & Boxster S (986) Forum 1996-2004
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just got my new '98 986. What upgrades should I do?

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2019, 12:52 AM
Pianoporsche
Track Day

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Just got my new '98 986. What upgrades should I do?

Hi everyone

Thank you to everybody who helped in my search for my first Porsche.

I just bought a Guards Red '98 986 with 77k miles. It's totally stock.

I'd like to do some mild upgrades to improve its performance. What should I do?

The PPI revealed the need for shocks, pads and rotors. The top is also broken (cables around windows have separated from the fabric causing leaks) so I will have to get a new top.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Supplier links and catalog numbers would be great!

I would like to start doing my own maintenance on it but I have zero experience working on cars.

The following users liked this post:
Brian in Tucson (09-10-2019)
Old 09-08-2019, 10:42 AM
Starter986
Pro

Received 91 Likes on 85 Posts

Welcome! Congratulations!

With all due respect, if you have zero experience working on cars you picked the wrong car.

Unless you have a fat wallet.

Performance? Not much you can do to squeeze more HP from the 2.5.

If you desire to wrench on the car.. it is fairly easy to maintain. There are a lot of great guys and gals who will respond to your every inquiry... so ask a lot of questions (after first you google the **** out of your inquiries so that you're not asking redundant questions. Use the search feature upon the forums. Oh, GO TO 986FORUM.COM as well).

Keep us posted.

Good luck.

OH! Love. The. Color.
Schwinn (09-08-2019)
Old 09-08-2019, 12:26 PM
paulofto
Racer

Received 31 Likes on 24 Posts