Notices

Need 17" tires Hankook RS3 or Toyo R1Rs?

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2012, 07:09 PM
Litesonic
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Need 17" tires Hankook RS3 or Toyo R1Rs?

Both of these cost as near as makes no difference the same.
Both cost about the same number of points (treadwear 140)

I will need to use to drive 2 and from events so I can't go full slick

Any thoughts? preferences? experiences?

Hard to go wrong it appears...

My car is a stock 2004 996 40th Anniversary ed. I autocross about 6-10 times a year. I have been autocrossing (various cars) for about 3 years. I am not competitive in my class, but hope to be some day.
Old 07-23-2012, 07:19 PM
BGLeduc
Rennlist Member

Received 109 Likes on 64 Posts

I have not driven either, but both are well regarded in street tire AX classes.

You might have a read of this:

http://www.facebook.com/notes/hollis...45008598916447

Probably more than you want to know about street tires for AX, but there is some great stuff in there.

Brian
Old 07-23-2012, 08:05 PM
Litesonic
Pro

I appreciate it... The Kumho XS are just a bit cheaper. And "cost" the same in point deductions, so they too are an option.

FWIW they look like they might last just a bit longer as well... which is always a bonus
Old 07-23-2012, 08:51 PM
Litesonic
Pro

Well the XS are a special order... RS3 it is.
Old 07-24-2012, 01:41 AM
genikz
Three Wheelin'

RS3s are fantastic tires. I've done 7 events and they wear like iron and stick almost as well as my R-comps
Old 07-24-2012, 01:57 AM
gomarlins3
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post