my PCM2.1 not working ( no display, no sound ...) - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Audio and Video Forum
Reload this Page >

my PCM2.1 not working ( no display, no sound ...)

Notices
Audio and Video Forum The place to discuss auto and home audio, home theater etc.

my PCM2.1 not working ( no display, no sound ...)

Reply

Old 06-10-2017, 01:40 PM
  #1  
adrian kim
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 14
Question my PCM2.1 not working ( no display, no sound ...)

My car is 2003 Cayenne Turbo with PCM2.1
6 months has passed since the audio system failed.
No response, No sound, No display... screen is black T T.
I tried all the way I suggested at this forum, but it was useless.
(for example... press digit 1,4,8, replace fuse, Starting pattern...)
So I decided to disassemble the PCM2.1

first my PCM2.1 on board





2. separate from the dashboard



3. check the fuse - OK



4. check cables - OK



5. open PCM2.1




6. detail check - i think There was nothing wrong with the sight.hahaha



7. assemble PCM2.1 T T



finally, I realized that I couldn't fix it myself.

But I wonder what I am asking for now.

There seems to be no physical problem inside the PCM, so may the PCM fail because it doesn't supply power?
How can I check if there is a problem with applying the PCM?
I wish someone would reply to me. please~~
I am so sad to see my dumb Cay these days.
adrian kim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 09:15 PM
  #2  
Kevinmacd
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE Florida
Posts: 2,585
Default

Did you put a volt meter on + pin of the power connector with the connector disconnected You might not be getting power to unit at all. From the post it looks like you only checked the fuse on the back of the pcm.
There should be a main fuse in the fuse box on the vehicle if power is absent at the connector.
Ypu should check continuity across the fuse a visual will work, 99% of the time sometimes the link breaks at the joint of one of the feet.

Last edited by Kevinmacd; 06-16-2017 at 09:39 PM.
Kevinmacd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 12:31 PM
  #3  
adrian kim
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 14
Default

THX KEVIN~
Thank you for your kind answer.
Not only a fuse at the rear of the pcm, but also the fuses (D8&9) relating to the PCM in the fuze box of the passenger compartment have been replaced.
I think There were no problems with the visually checked fuses.T T

But there is something curious about it.
Your reply 'Did you put a volt meter on + pin of the power connector with the connector disconnected'
I'm sorry, but I honestly didn't understand it.
Excuse me, but I'd appreciate it if you could explain it a little bit.
Thanks once again.
adrian kim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 07:09 AM
  #4  
adrian kim
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 14
Default OMZ

Finally, I visited an audio repair shop to fix the PCM2.
Experts searched the PCM2 completely, but eventually my audio didn't work.
OMZ
Experts said he would repair my PCM2 for a week, but I was reinstalling and returned to work.

But today, I knew one thing!!!
We found that the power supply from the vehicle to the PCM was not a problem, but that there was a problem with the power supply in the PCM.

OMZ, considering the cost of replacing the Unit, I am devastated.
adrian kim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 08:27 PM
  #5  
Kevinmacd
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE Florida
Posts: 2,585
Default

Well my post was just make sure you were getting power at the connector. You may want to try ebay for a replacement. Sorry for the pcm death!
Kevinmacd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 08:50 PM
  #6  
adrian kim
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 14
Default Many thanks KEVIN

Thanks you very much! Kevin
I will find another work to fix my PCM2
I'll find out and I'll talk to you after fixing it!!
Thank you KEVIN

Originally Posted by Kevinmacd View Post
Well my post was just make sure you were getting power at the connector. You may want to try ebay for a replacement. Sorry for the pcm death!
adrian kim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 08:45 PM
  #7  
Kevinmacd
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE Florida
Posts: 2,585
Default

Good luck! Wish you best!
Kevinmacd is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: my PCM2.1 not working ( no display, no sound ...)


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: