Notices
Audio and Video Forum The place to discuss auto and home audio, home theater etc.
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By: Musicar

What makes an audiophile?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2010, 11:06 AM
Nugget
Rennlist Member

Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts
Default What makes an audiophile?

Here's my take...

I use my stereo to listen to music.
An audiophile uses music to listen to their stereo.
Old 09-03-2010, 11:17 AM
Juan Lopez
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 59 Likes on 37 Posts

believer in a lot of snake oil (and ball bearings, and cable lifts, and mystical rocks, ...).

It is enlightening when one finally goes from listening to the system back to listening to the music.
Old 09-03-2010, 01:59 PM
mdrums
Race Director

Received 179 Likes on 126 Posts

Yeah there is a lot of strange products out that claims all sorts of things. I've out of curiosity have gone to stores to look into some of these things and they are total snake oil.

most of my life I've been a musician. I work in the music industry and feel that I know what acoustic instrument sound like in real life. I also travel for my job a lot and I do go into audio stre and demo set up's. Some I hear the sound is colored some sound really good.

To me an audiophile is or should be a person that has a room properly set up that they can go into and listen to music and relax. This person is knowledgable about the gear and strives to seekout the best gear to listen to music. This is there hobby.
Old 09-03-2010, 06:26 PM
KINGSRULE
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by mdrums
Yeah there is a lot of strange products out that claims all sorts of things. I've out of curiosity have gone to stores to look into some of these things and they are total snake oil.