Android based PCM replacement - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
Audio and Video Forum The place to discuss auto and home audio, home theater etc.

Android based PCM replacement

 
Old 03-14-2018, 05:39 PM
  #1  
andys997tt
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Default Android based PCM replacement

I just bought my 2008 Porsche 997 Turbo w/ Bose system and looking to replace my PCM. I've done a lot of reading on this forum the last 2 days on PCM replacement. It seems to me that lots of people went with a Pioneer head unit. Have anyone replace the PCM with an Android based head unit ? My buddy installed an Android based head unit on his M5 and he's very happy with it. I would like to keep my Bose system and all the OEM functions if possible. I prefer to have the new head unit with navigation, rear camera and Bluetooth connection. I have an Android phone and don't acre for iPhone. Any advice will be great appreciated. Thanks !
andys997tt is offline  
Old 08-25-2018, 10:33 PM
  #2  
michaelgsmiles
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: toronto
Posts: 3
Default

Andys99tt, My 2006 996TT Head unit just bit the dust. What did you end up installing in your 997 ? I'm happy to take any advice. Did you change out your speakers as well?
michaelgsmiles is offline  
Old 08-25-2018, 10:57 PM
  #3  
michaelgsmiles
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: toronto
Posts: 3
Default

sorry that was supposed to be 2004 not 2006 996TT.
michaelgsmiles is offline  
Old 08-29-2018, 07:42 AM
  #4  
jroal
User
 
jroal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default Pumpkin AE0273B-08A Android Stereo Head Unit Install in 2006 Porsche Cayman S

I just installed a Pumpkin full-Android head unit in my 987 Cayman S. Full write-up here: https://jimroal.blogspot.com/2018/08...head-unit.html
I have had it installed less than a week now but so far very happy with it. I hope you find this info useful. I too use an Android phone but this unit will work with any phone.

Last edited by jroal; 08-29-2018 at 07:44 AM. Reason: adding more info
jroal is offline  
Old 10-05-2018, 11:25 PM
  #5  
andys997tt
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Sorry for the late response. i just saw your message. i replaced my factory PCM with this android headunit,

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/XTRO...3da24c4dxFGvQr

since i have BOSE system in my 997 TT, i bought the Seicane MOST adapter to work with the android head unit. installation was done by a local car stereo shop

unfortunately, i have been having problem with the replacement. sounds are dropped from time to time. i have come to the conclusion that the problem is with the Seicane MOST adapter.
andys997tt is offline  
Old 01-06-2019, 09:16 AM
  #6  
jroal
User
 
jroal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by andys997tt View Post
Sorry for the late response. i just saw your message. i replaced my factory PCM with this android headunit,

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/XTRO...3da24c4dxFGvQr

since i have BOSE system in my 997 TT, i bought the Seicane MOST adapter to work with the android head unit. installation was done by a local car stereo shop

unfortunately, i have been having problem with the replacement. sounds are dropped from time to time. i have come to the conclusion that the problem is with the Seicane MOST adapter.
I occasionally have the sound dropping issue. I was headed down the same path blaming the adapter but finally figured it out. Go to the equalizer app in the head unit and adjust the fader back to the proper place. In my case I used the front channels so I just click front. It does not appear to change anything but the sound does come back. Mine would start to decrease output on the drivers side and when I do this it brings it all back. Seems like a software issue in this head unit. Not too surprising. At least it is easy to fix. IN my case it seems to happen once every couple weeks or so.
jroal is offline  
Old 01-08-2019, 01:58 AM
  #7  
flgfish
User
 
flgfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 172
Default

I did this in an Acadia. I hated it. Get a Pioneer, you’ll be much happier. It’s fine at first, but over time, all the little things wear on you. The interminably long boot up. The terrible FM tuner app. The inability to get digital radio. The overall half finished software. Random hangs and crashes. Poor compatibility with USB devices. I could go on and on.



flgfish is offline  
Old 01-21-2019, 02:10 PM
  #8  
NewportAutosound
Basic Sponsor
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 54
Default

Hey there, you can replace your radio with whatever type of double din unit you could want. I will say im not a huge fan of the android based style radios. Unfortunately I have seen too many bad ones over the course of time that they have been available. If you are looking for an Android type solution, I would say to get a Pioneer or Kenwood radio that supports Android Auto. Plus the output of the preamp section is going to be much better which is how you are connecting into the most adapter into the car. We do these cars weekly if you have any more questions about it or integrating into it.
__________________
http://newportautosound.com/
NewportAutosound is offline  
Old 02-18-2019, 07:28 AM
  #9  
Geff Rush
New User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Default

i bougnt new android system
Geff Rush is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Android based PCM replacement


Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: