Sponsored by:

CA Smog Test Annoyances

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2017, 07:24 PM
SethW
Intermediate

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default CA Smog Test Annoyances

I don't post often, but find that so much information is provided that I wanted to make sure I returned the favor.

Just came from a really annoying CA Smog Test. I replaced the exhaust with a Europipe (love it) as well as the boost hoses, as those are AFAIK, prone to fail. Ironically, the big issue was the boost hoses. They got all worked up that they were "not OEM Porsche hoses and since they are connected to the engine they are a problem".

I'm far from an expert in CARB, but I have a hard time believing that the letter or the spirit of the law was intended to take the non OEM part business and put it in the toilet. I explained my reasoning, and that these hoses don't affect emissions in any way. I get the "its the agency, not me sir".

Long story short, I passed (no printout of the actual numbers, odd?) I think they decided to just punt on it. They did take plenty of pictures and they said that they were "just wanting to learn".

This particular station was located at Three Twenty Three Woodside Road, near El Camino. Not too far from Ferrari of Silicon Valley.

Next time, I am getting a referral.
Old 04-11-2017, 11:55 AM
Macster
Race Director

Received 246 Likes on 217 Posts

Originally Posted by SethW
I don't post often, but find that so much information is provided that I wanted to make sure I returned the favor.

Just came from a really annoying CA Smog Test. I replaced the exhaust with a Europipe (love it) as well as the boost hoses, as those are AFAIK, prone to fail. Ironically, the big issue was the boost hoses. They got all worked up that they were "not OEM Porsche hoses and since they are connected to the engine they are a problem".