Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PCCB important question......

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2013 | 09:12 PM
rijowysock
Nordschleife Master

Question PCCB important question......

had suspension installed today... and sways and so forth..

leaving the place i heard a small "whir" sound... then with an expressway wall on my left i heard that "worn brake pad sound".. pulled off road and noticed the inside dust shield driver front was "touching" the CCB Rotor... pulled it off using a 1" wide pry tool as to not damage rotor.

got up in air and flashlight on the rotor and it has "scratch marks" but honestly just are visual and with finger nails nothing catches... just scrapes against rotor.
obviously being a PCCB newb i am concerned... about 2 miles if that of wear.... but nothing "you can feel" just visual scratches..

Keep an eye on things,

or

STFU and keep driving.

Last edited by rijowysock; 05-27-2013 at 11:33 PM.
Old 05-15-2013 | 09:46 PM
TT Surgeon
Race Director

Put up a pic
I'd be inclined not to worry.
Old 05-15-2013 | 10:04 PM
Igooz
Trucker
Rennlist Member

I tend to agree with TTSurgeon. And I was just under my car so I took two pictures. The bottom part of the dust shield near the lower arm is pretty flimsy (for light weight) and I can see it being pushed in -- see the photos. And these rotors are tough!

However, I am very surprised at any shop that did not test drive, or "free spin" the wheels on the lift and listen?

Post some pictures...
Attached Images   
Old 05-15-2013 | 11:33 PM
Terry Adams
Rennlist Member
Veteran: Army

Not worry.
Old 05-16-2013 | 12:08 AM
rijowysock
Nordschleife Master

I'll attempt some pics. I didn't take any on the lift.

They did test drive it. BUT I think it got pushed in during the alignment. Couple people under there and maybe one had hand leaning or something.

I'll try and get pics here shortly. Thank you guys for the advice and thoughts.
Old 05-16-2013 | 12:30 AM
Igooz
Trucker
Rennlist Member