Notices
997 Turbo Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

997.1tt 6sp Tuning Results and Observations (UMW, Europipe do88 Stage 2)

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2024, 11:20 AM
JeffPGH
Track Day

Received 12 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 997.1tt 6sp Tuning Results and Observations (UMW, Europipe do88 Stage 2)

As a newer member to the community, I've found incredible value in all of your wisdom and commentary and felt it was time to give back. Briefly, I had a 991 Turbo PDK, switched to my current 08 997.1 TT Cab w/ 35k miles. It needed its major preventative + coolant pinning. I'm in Pittsburgh PA and track my E46 M3 and plan to track this car, so I went all in with Kevin from UMW and splurged on some upgrades. I'm a data-centric guy (software engineer) by trade so approached things meticulously and wanted to share data.

Here I'll start a thread to share my config, results and lessons learned.

First, the car setup
  • 2008 997.1 TT 6sp Cab, originally from NYC, purchased from California, ~35k miles.
  • Car showed one range 6 overrev; the prior owner missed a shift, panicked and put it up for sale within 45 minutes of engine runtime. I bought it anyway - its been rock solid for 1000 miles
Major maintenance and upgrades since purchase
  • Front radiators/condenser cleanout (removed bumper), detailed, bought Porsche floor mats, front lower spoiler from ebay, track + winter wheels from kind, fellow Rennlisters
  • Bluetooth radio module, interior LED light conversion, windshield washer pump replacement, cabin filters
  • Ran it stock, then did a UMW stage-1 tune w/ Kevin (phenomenal), then went back to stock and did engine out service via a phenomenal local Indy in Pittsburgh; DM me for info
  • Pinned coolant pipes + new water pump, thermostat and all hoses & gaskets (over a dozen, almost two)
  • New turbo aux electric pump. Power steering flush, oil change