Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

997.1 tt with problems!! turbo rot?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2019, 02:09 PM
theanalyst
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Unhappy 997.1 tt with problems!! turbo rot?

Hi guys, so glad I found this place to try and get some help with my 07 997tt problems

I am UK based and recently bought a 997.1 tt that has some running issues.... I have taken it back from the garage who was fixing it and am going to sort it myself back in my own garage. I have done a lot of work on my other cars, supra engine builds, m3 builds, kit cars, but I have very little flat 6 experience up to now... but that is going to change lol

A brief summary, car idled roughly and seemed to be down on boost on a small test drive, so it has had all the exhausts off, new studs and nuts , front rad pipes etc
Now, on test drive it was making a noise from the OS (rhd car) turbo (whooshing) was down on boost and 'get up and go' and when the tech got it back to the garage he blipped the throttle and it was throwing some fuelly smelling smoke out of the OS exhaust when blipped.
We have found the turbo is blowing (corrosion it seems) between cold and hotside on the OS turbo, also evidence of soot marks in there. NS turbo has a micro soot mark evident but is not yet blowing clearly.
So I have taken the car home, before the bill gets too terrible and am fixing it myself. hoping for some help from the good guys on here!!

I am going to get the turbos removed next week, and then either repaired or replaced, the car idles and revs beautifully from startup, its seemed to be when hot that this issue became more apparent. Engine always sounds like a sweet mezger, so I am hopeful it is the turbo issue that is causing over fuelling and erratic idle at times. It isnt misfiring. Would be really grateful for any wisdom from 997t guys before i start to travel this path! (and during!)

Cliff notes//
cars runs nice
more erratic idle when up to temp]