Sponsored by:

Data Driven Analysis Tiptronic vs Manual Market Analysis

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2018, 11:20 PM
gbakerge
Racer

Received 128 Likes on 77 Posts
Default Data Driven Analysis Tiptronic vs Manual Market Analysis

I admit it, I am an engineer geek. There has been a lot of discussion regarding the market value difference between Manuals and Tiptronics, so I wanted to put some numbers in Excel to analyze the data. The goal of my analysis was to first identify if there is a premium for a manual vs a Tiptronic and second if there is, how much is this premium. So here we go...

I went to Autotrader to get asking prices for 2007 turbos as of today. There were 23 Tiptronics and 23 Manuals for sale. I developed a regression equation for mileage vs price for both Tiptronics and Manuals. The two regression charts are below. The the red equation in the lower right corner of each chart is the market price equation (y variable is the price) for a given number of miles (x variable). Simply plug in the mileage in place of the x and you can see your estimated market value. Of course, options and after market modifications can alter pricing, so this is not exact, but rather directionally correct.

Here is the market value graph for the Tiptronics:

Here is the market value graph for the Manuals:

Based on the two charts above, it is crystal clear that Manuals carry a premium over the Tiptronics.

So using the two red regression equations, we can determine the amount of the manual premium for a given number of miles. Using the equations, I created the table below.

So there we have it...on average there is a $17k premium for a manual over a Tiptronic. Even though there is a premium for the manual, I'm still happy with my Tiptronic!

Last edited by gbakerge; 09-27-2018 at 11:42 PM.
Old 09-27-2018, 11:32 PM
bondjockey
Racer

Received 57 Likes on 34 Posts