Sponsored by:

Sports chrono

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2017, 06:52 PM
Carguy1
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sports chrono

I am new to Porsche and find myself very confused what sports chrono is. I am looking at a 2013 turbo s 911. I pulled up the build sheet and sports chrono is not mentioned in the options. There is a Hump in the dash with some type of gauge looking at the pictures. Does sports chro have anything to do with launch control, the sport control, and the sport track control button? My concern is would this car have these controls if it does not have sport chrono?

Thanks for your help
Old 09-15-2017, 01:20 AM
caslca
Racer

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

The official 997.2 TTS brochure says this:

The Sport Chrono Package Turbo with dynamic engine mount system (standard on 911 Turbo S models) provides PDK with two additional functions, ‘Launch Control’ and ‘motor sport-derived gearshift strategy’ (page 60). PDK – sporty, comfortable and
efficient. Characteristics that have been given some thought else-where too: in the specification for the 911 Turbo model range.

So looks like 997.2TTS comes with sport chrono out of the factory(which gives you launch control, dynamic engine mounts and I think the sport button). If it is marked as TTS from the factory and you see the hump then you get all the bells & whistles.
Old 09-15-2017, 02:00 AM
pfbz
Rennlist Member

Received 2,721 Likes on 1,463 Posts

If it has the 'sport' button, or is a PDK car and has both a 'sport' and 'sport plus' button on the center stack, it has Sports Chrono.

On 997.2 cars, especially with PDK, it's highly desirable not for the stupid timer wart, but for the more aggressive PDK programming.

I don't know for sure on the 2012 Turbo S, but on a 2010 Turbo (non S), the first year for 997.2 Turbo's, it was an option. Sounds like it was bundled into the Turbo S, which makes sense.

From the 2010 Turbo order guide: