Notices
997 GT2/GT3 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

Anything to gain by going backwards on tires?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2013, 02:09 AM
forhamilton
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Anything to gain by going backwards on tires?

I've been running R6's for a little over a year. Honestly, I'm just starting to find the limits. I would say I'm a B- driver in an A+ car.

I'm starting to wonder if I could learn more by going back to a street compound on the track. Is there any knowledge to gain by going backwards sometimes?

Second and less important is cost/fun factor. I want to have fun and find my limits and have the best bang for the buck.

Anybody ever take a step back?
Old 05-08-2013, 02:13 AM
tcsracing1
Rennlist Member

Received 259 Likes on 173 Posts

i have a lot to learn before i move up to R6 tires.

Until i master the car on DOT tires, i have no business cheating on R6
Old 05-08-2013, 02:33 AM
forhamilton
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

^ I agree with you and I felt that it was time to move on to R compound when I did it. I'm wondering if anyone has went backwards and captured time by learning a little more on trail braking, throttle steer, smoothness, etc.
Old 05-08-2013, 02:47 AM
24Chromium
Drifting

Received 25 Likes on 14 Posts

Drive 'em (the R6s) until they cord. And then keep driving them!

For the first time in my life, I finally drove a set of R6s for 16 (or more) HCs. Don't succumb to the idea that you'll slow down. Try your best to keep the same time you had when they were at 4 HCs. That will teach you a lot about car control!
Old 05-08-2013, 03:54 AM
wanna911
Race Car

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts