Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

Rockin' the Featherlite, thanks to fellow Rennlister

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2011, 07:37 PM
drl
Rennlist Member

Received 138 Likes on 65 Posts
Default Rockin' the Featherlite, thanks to fellow Rennlister

Thanks to mobonic - great deal on a great trailer!

I am new to car trailers, and he actually came to my house and spent a few hours on a Friday evening helping me set up the rig and load/unload the car for the first time. BIG thanks!

I'm pretty new around here but love this forum so far.
Attached Images   
Old 07-12-2011, 07:55 PM
Carrera GT
Wordsmith
Rennlist Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Very tidy looking rig. That black E Series is capable of raising the cabin temperature about 40 degrees over ambient!

Also, Macs Straps (http://www.macscustomtiedowns.com/) recommends not using a crossover for a car on a trailer. The idea being that once all the slack is bounced out of the straps, the car will tend to move diagonally and, if a strap releases, the other three straps will tend to pull the car to one side of the trailer. Math types would think of this as resolving vectors. In short, they advise having all four wheels done the same way you've done the fronts. Sometimes this will result in the ratchet being too long, so they offer a direct hook for the ratchet:
http://www.macscustomtiedowns.com/product/173/TieDowns

Also note the safety latch on the anchor hook of the left front wheel is not in place.
Old 07-12-2011, 08:25 PM
NJ-GT
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

I think I know that Featherlite, those protective mats on the inner lips looks familiar.

By the way, it hurts to see such a nice car strapped by the wheels, use the 4 jack points underneath, crossed to avoid lateral moves (difficult with the 3110 due to the sand paper like floor), a big road bump can move the car, it did it to my Fiat on one trip.

Congratulations
Old 07-12-2011, 09:17 PM
drl
Rennlist Member