Skip Barber 3 day school

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2007, 09:45 PM
GT3CAR
Needs to Get a Life
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Skip Barber 3 day school

I am attending the Skip Barber 3 day racing school at Road America. It is my first time at Road America. We are using the 2.2 mile course used for the school.

It was cold here today and it rained all day long. We were all soaked and cold but it was a good day. We got a lot of experience in very wet conditions. I have never been in an open wheel car before on a track so that is a great new experience.

The day started with a classroom talk about car basics and dynamics. The school assumes you walk in with no experience at all. We then did an autocross in the car followed by a little more classroom and then a shifting and double clutch exercise. After that we spent the rest of the afternoon lapping in the rain and learning the dry line and the rain line.

The weather is supposed to clear up tomorrow and the next day. I will be happy to post more if people are interested. I know there has been a lot writing about schools and skippy here before…..

LJ
Old 09-10-2007, 10:10 PM
pdxjim
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts

Do they put on dedicated rain tires or, one type for all conditions?
Old 09-10-2007, 10:40 PM
mikestash
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Would love to hear about it. Am considering attending myself.
Old 09-10-2007, 10:55 PM
leif997
Three Wheelin'

the 3-day school is a great introduction to road racing and car control ....good luck and congrats on furthering your abilities
Old 09-10-2007, 11:15 PM
richk
Drifting

Received 882 Likes on 366 Posts

+1 the 3 day school is a great...great way to improve your driving skills
Old 09-11-2007, 08:02 PM
GT3CAR
Needs to Get a Life
Rennlist Member

I just finished the 2nd day of the 3 day skip barber school. Here are my thoughts in no specific order.