Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

took apart the rear wing today...

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2007, 10:21 PM
997gt3north
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default took apart the rear wing today...

- allen key is all you need - easy to do
- there are 3 holes for adjustment - except as previously reported, the provided metal bracket will not work with the other 2 holes
- i had a thought that switching the left/right side brackets and flipping them over would enable more downforce (it almost works except the fit it just not perfect and you will begin stripping the screw, as I did, trying to make it work
- what seems like a very easy, but ghetto solution, is to put in rubber plumbers washer of about 4/5mm as a spacer for your rain setup - the problem here is that the existing oem screw gets too short very fast and the angle also begins to change quickly and you will risk stripping the threads
- as I am not an engineer, I will not comment on the design, but it doesn't seem optimal in my opinion

- in summery, go grab 4 2cent 5mm rubber washers, drill out the centers to enable the oem srews to fit, and you will have a 10cent solution for a low grip rain day
Old 03-13-2007, 08:38 AM
Unitah
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I did the same thing yesterday! haha. Anyway, after speaking to Porsche in Germany, the way the wing works is as follows:

1. Unscrew the two main screws per side, releasing the wing. Tilt it all the way up.
2. Unscrew the single screw on each side holding the metal bracket in place.
3. Put the peg of the metal bracket in the desired hole (either number 2 or 3).
4. Tilt the wing into position and screw the two main screws back in. It will line up perfectly.