Sponsored by: Porsche North Houston

door locking / unlocking issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2022, 02:04 PM
smq42
Rennlist Member

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Default door locking / unlocking issues

I had a dead battery last summer and I ended up having to jump start the car. Immediately afterwards, the power door locks stopped working properly. When I'm outside the car and I try to lock it with the key fob button or turn the key in the lock, the lock mechanism seems to activate followed by a double beep from the horn and the car immediately unlocks. However, If I'm inside the car and press the central lock button, the car locks just fine and stays locked.

Anyone have any ideas? This is turning into a real pain as I can't lock the car when I go anywhere!
Old 05-15-2022, 04:33 PM
bweSteve
Rennlist Member

Received 1,050 Likes on 667 Posts

have you tried a double click on your key fob, to lock it?

... I'm no expert on these cars when it comes to the gas door lock (mine seems to have a mind of its own on when it wants to be locked or unlocked),... and I have run into a similar problem on locking the car with fob. I can't even remember how it was before I noticed the need for a double click.
Old 05-15-2022, 05:11 PM
Bxstr
Rennlist Member

Received 3,092 Likes on 2,114 Posts

1) have you replaced the battery, or did you just recharge it? How old is it?
2) the double beep from the horn and immediately unlocking I believe means that the car thinks something is still open. Have you done a scan of the car with a Durametric or PIWIS to see if any codes are coming up?

My guess is it's a microswitch that has gone faulty. Maybe after the car was jumped, too much voltage was delivered to a part of the car?

Some more info at the links below:
https://rennlist.com/forums/996-foru...tration-4.html
Post 2 has some info, even though the other posts are about the Cayenne: https://rennlist.com/forums/cayenne-...eans-what.html