Sponsored by:

PSE (Porsche Sport Exhaust) permanently quiet

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2015, 01:31 PM
ElVerde07
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default PSE (Porsche Sport Exhaust) permanently quiet

I'm at my wits end. Let me preface this with the fact that I'm new to p-cars and sort of lost. Please talk to me like a child, because it's likely I'm missing something very obvious.

My 07 C2S is equipped w/ PSE. It has worked beautifully for the last year, but recently stopped working. It is always "quiet". All other sport mode functions work perfectly.

I have disconnected the orange plug to try to fix it, to no avail. From what I'm reading, I likely don't have a vacuum issue because then it would be stuck "loud". I can also tell only one side of the exhaust is open at idle...so it seems my valves are stuck closed somehow?

I would like to verify, but I can't find any resource anywhere that can direct me on where the damn valves are. I can't find them. I would love it if someone could explain or show me a picture.

If you have any ideas on how to approach this, I would really appreciate it.

Tl/Dr my PSE is quiet all the time and it doesn't make sense.
The following users liked this post:
zboy325 (03-29-2022)
Old 12-05-2015, 08:04 PM
ElVerde07
Advanced

Thought I'd post here for future folks who have a similar issue.

Disconnecting the orange wire did not help. However, when I pulled a vacuum line from the switch, suddenly I had loud exhaust again.

At this point, it seems obvious that the switch itself is broken, a $125 part. I'll order and replace it.

In the meantime, I simply pulled off and capped both vacuum lines and I have loud exhaust all the time. Pretty sure it's OK to do this, but open to any feedback.

Old 12-05-2015, 08:49 PM
rob0001
Instructor

Received 14 Likes on 7 Posts

Try if the solenoid orange plug if has power when switched from PSE button. Could be that the solenoid is stuck in open position and needs replacing.
Old 12-05-2015, 10:41 PM