Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anything wrong with this spacer/lug bolt set?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2015 | 09:27 PM
mgordon18
Rennlist Member

Default Anything wrong with this spacer/lug bolt set?

Is there a good reason to bypass this relatively cheap spacer/bolt set in favor of the more expensive kit found at Pelican and other online stores?

Amazon.com: 2pc 15mm Hubcentric Wheel Spacers (5x130 71.6) for Porsche with Silver Lug Bolts (14x1.5, 45mm Shank): Automotive Amazon.com: 2pc 15mm Hubcentric Wheel Spacers (5x130 71.6) for Porsche with Silver Lug Bolts (14x1.5, 45mm Shank): Automotive
Old 06-05-2015 | 10:25 PM
EMC2
Burning Brakes

I have no experience either way with the brand you referenced. I've used H&R and ECS spacers with zero problems. There are many good brands out there.

Typically I prefer to use products that have at least a decent number of reviews and are a recognised brand. Particularly as it may only cost $20 - $50 more per pair, and you don't want to mess with fitment/balance issues on such a key part of your vehicle. Just my humble opinion
Old 06-05-2015 | 10:35 PM
StormRune
Rennlist Member

The only thing I notice is that they don't make any mention of specific grade of aluminum they use but maybe "aerospace grade" is good enough (?), nor do they say that the bolts have any corrosion resistance.

I bought my spacers and bolts from Adaptec, one of our sponsors (no affiliaton), and have been especially happy with the zinc coated bolts that have stayed nice and shiny for two years (with just routine cleaning). They aren't all that expensive either, but are made in America and do cost a little bit more. In either case, I would recommend getting a nylon-lined lug bolt socket to eliminate any chance of damage to the zinc coating or just any bolt/wheel surface. You can get these for roughly $20 on ebay, just search for 19mm Porsche lug bolt sockets and look for the ones that are lined.
Old 06-05-2015 | 11:04 PM