Sponsored by:

New to 911, Clutch question

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2014, 11:26 AM
chris.lorine
Advanced

Received 21 Likes on 13 Posts
Default New to 911, Clutch question

Please have mercy on me, I am new to owning a 911.

I purchased a used 2009 997.2 with 22,500 miles last Feb. after recently selling my BMW 530 (also manual transmission) on which I put 173K miles on the original clutch. I am confident that I can drive a manual transmission properly.

Just brought my car in for an Oil service ($380) where they changed oil and flushed and changed brake fluid. The told me that my car's clutch needs to be replaced. They stated "Clutch is slipping and releasing high." Their estimate for replacement was $2054 + tax.

The car currently has 26,853 miles on it. Most of the miles I have put on the car have been highway miles. Is it possible the dealership is scamming me? How can I tell. The Porsche clutch is different than the BMW clutch but seems to function just fine.

I look to the combined knowledge of this forum for guidance.
Old 10-10-2014, 11:53 AM
Gonzo911
Rat Balls
Rennlist Member

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

I assume it was the local Porsche dealership in Scottsdale. They are ridiculous. Take it over to Beck's European in the Airpark and have those guys look at it for you. My first visit in a 996 to that dealer resulted in a $5700 quote. Got everything fixed at Beck's for $800.

BTW...the 911 clutch does release high. Unless you punch it and start noticing high RPM's with minimal acceleration, you are fine.
Old 10-10-2014, 12:00 PM
Comanche_699
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Couple things - one if you're in a higher gear and you get on the throttle, but the car doesn't take off "like a porsche should" then maybe it's getting tired.

If you shift down, say from 4th to 3rd and the revs don't jump up right away, that's another clue.