Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Paint Repairs: Don't Let Perfect Be the Enemy of Good???

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2014, 03:27 PM
Schpee007
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paint Repairs: Don't Let Perfect Be the Enemy of Good???

Need some guidance from the community. I have a couple of paint issues on my Aqua Blue Metallic baby from the prior owner which I'm ready to get fixed. Pictures are attached for reference. The door scratch is a finger nail catcher. I've gotten quotes from "reconditioning" shops running around $500 for both to $1,500+ from auto body shops. I have no experience with the reconditioning path in terms of quality and durability compared to proper paint repair. Also concerned a proper repair could actually hurt resale value down the road because the door panel would be resprayed (though I'd document it all with pictures to show no accident involved).

What path would you all recommend?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Attached Images   
Old 04-09-2014, 03:36 PM
myw
Nordschleife Master

Received 577 Likes on 345 Posts

repainting the plastic front bumper to remove rock chips (with documentation/photos like you stated to prove not accident related) won't hurt resale value. imo after the paint cures i would apply full 3M to the bumper. as a temp solution, no harm in dr color chip/oem paint pen.

re the door and metal car parts/pieces in general, i would avoid repainting it whenever possible. again, dr colorchip/oem paint stick with clearcoat and touch that up.

while deciding what to do i would touch the door up sooner then later, you don't want the bare metal to get rained on.
Old 04-09-2014, 04:53 PM
jeffrec
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts