Stop a newbie from making a bad buy

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2012, 04:45 PM
iammulva
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Stop a newbie from making a bad buy

Hi all,

Bear with me as I am new to the Porsche world and only in the last few weeks have started researching/looking for 996/997's. I have read about IMS, RMS, water pumps, thermstats, etc and am now thinking I should get a 2006/2007 997.

Having said that, I have three questions:

1. What are your thoughts on the price/value of this particular car? How much would you pay?

2. If you are in the Houston area, do you have personal experience with Omar at MotorWerks.

3. If you are in the Houston area, do you have a preferred PPI mechanic?

Thanks in advance - I'm getting close to pulling the trigger on my first Porsche.

Chris
Old 12-06-2012, 04:51 PM
cairo94507
Rennlist Member

Received 98 Likes on 74 Posts

Hi Chris:

With the questions you have asked you may not have done enough research so as to be able discern a reasonably priced car from one that is over-priced. If you cruise the typical Internet car sales sites, you will get a good feel for what these cars are actually selling for. It takes a little effort but in the end you will end up with a purchase which does not turn into buyer's remorse 2 weeks later.

The essential thing to do is identify the type car you want and the options you have to have to make the deal. Remember to compare apples to apples. Do you want a coupe, cab, targa? Do you want a base model or an S. 2-wheel drive or all-wheel drive? 6 speed or Tiptronic/PDK (depending upon year), sport chrono, CPO or non-CPO, etc.