Sponsored by:

Options to RAISE 997.1 4S

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2012, 02:43 PM
07C4S
Instructor

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Options to RAISE 997.1 4S

Are there any options out to raise the car 1/2"-1"? Curious if it might be as simple as a spacer on the top of the struts? Guessing coilovers might be another option - but at a higher cost and I'd rather keep the Porsche components. Obviously I'd need an alignment as well.
Old 05-29-2012, 02:57 PM
Mbiondo
Pro

Received 32 Likes on 20 Posts

Have you considered 20" wheels with /35 series rubber? I am not a wheel expert, so I'd suggest you consult with someone who knows, but that may be the safest and most compliant means. 1" however, is a lot. Driveway rubbing issues?
Old 05-29-2012, 03:12 PM
07C4S
Instructor

20" rims?????? That would be insane where I live unless I wanted to help my dentist and chiropractor buy a new yacht. 18"s would be better for more rubber - and I will definitely do that for winter shoes - but that won't get the car any higher off the ground. I've played around with all the various tire sizes - there really isn't anything that will work to increase the ride height.
Old 05-29-2012, 03:21 PM
dianic
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You are likely to be affecting the dynamics of the car in a very bad manner, you realize? Stability at speed, aerodynamics etc.
I would certainly advise against it.

Get a set of coilovers that lift the nose at the touch of a button, they cost $3-4 I guess but they are certainly worth it compared to altering the dynamics of the car. I think KW makes a set and Techart.
Old 05-29-2012, 03:29 PM
07C4S
Instructor