Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tracking with kids in the car?!?

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2012, 08:50 PM
Wannabeproracer
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tracking with kids in the car?!?

Just wondering what the age limit (if there is one) to be able to take your kid(s) in the car with you on the track with POC or any other Porsche track events.

My 8 year old was upset with me because I told him, he's way too young and that he is not even supposed to sit in the front seat. However he found a youtube video of a kid riding in the front seat while his dad was on the track with him.

I know at BMWCCA (I'm an instructor) I saw some teenagers riding with their parents who were instructors but I'm not sure if that was legit or not.

Just curious for your input.

Cheers!
Old 01-23-2012, 09:28 PM
racer
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

16-18 y/o seems to be the norm with PCA events. Both PCA and BMW haev programs in place for "junior" drivers as well. I recall as a kid (8-10y.o) going out with my folks, but that was the 1970s. Things are a bit different these days (waivers, wristbands, obviously short passengers with helmets just above the dash )
Old 01-23-2012, 11:35 PM
MusicCity_997
Intermediate

Each group will likely have different age limits. SCCA requires riders to be 12 or older for auto-x but some groups I've run with (auto-x and DE) don't allow any passengers unless you are a registered/paid participant so by default you would have to be 16 or older.

Remember, in the event you are involved in an accident, helmets are relatively heavy for those little kid's necks and that little youngster's neck may not be able to handle the g-force. I wouldn't risk my daughter's safety.

Some groups do "parade" laps during lunch which are very slow so that could suffice to get him out on the track at a safe pace. Best of both worlds for parent and youngster.
Old 01-24-2012, 02:33 AM
mdrobc1213
Rennlist Member

Received 855 Likes on 469 Posts