Notices
997 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

iPhone 4 with iPhone 3 as iPod

 
Old 04-15-2011, 05:49 PM
  #1  
RED HORSE
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
RED HORSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SHV
Posts: 3,390
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Question iPhone 4 with iPhone 3 as iPod

Has anyone who upgraded to an iPhone 4 been successful in using their iPhone 3 solely as an iPod with PCM 3? I don't have any problem pairing the iPhone 4, but I can't seem to solve getting the iPhone 3 to work as an iPod while the iPhone 4 is paired. Any help will be appreciated.
RED HORSE is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 06:26 PM
  #2  
Minok
Super User
 
Minok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,408
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

You should be able to plug the iPhone 3 into the iPod port on the universal audio interface and it would work via the iPod entry on the PCM. Is that what isn't working or are you trying to run two blue-tooth interface devices simultaneously via the bluetooth system?
Minok is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 06:43 PM
  #3  
Eric - Plug Guy
Site Sponsor
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

 
Eric - Plug Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,714
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Assuming you have Bluetooth, pair the iPhone 4 to your PCM, and stream tunes - you will get both tunes and phone this way.

In most cases, when the phone is 'plugged' into a cable, it becomes an ipod only. So if you wanted to use the 3Gs as a slave ipod, disable its bluetooth.
__________________
Eric
Chief Plug Guy
BumperPlugs.com

2009 Turbo Cab

Gone but not forgotten
2004 C4S Cabriolet
1999 C2 Cab
Eric - Plug Guy is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 09:06 PM
  #4  
RED HORSE
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
RED HORSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SHV
Posts: 3,390
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Eric - Plug Guy View Post
Assuming you have Bluetooth, pair the iPhone 4 to your PCM, and stream tunes - you will get both tunes and phone this way.

In most cases, when the phone is 'plugged' into a cable, it becomes an ipod only. So if you wanted to use the 3Gs as a slave ipod, disable its bluetooth.
Thanks, I'll try that. My goal is to simply leave the "old" phone in the car for use as an iPod since it will connect AND charge using the cable that came with the car. That way I can still use the new phone, via Bluetooth, as a phone and not worry about it not charging when hooked to the cable.
RED HORSE is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 09:33 PM
  #5  
Spectro28
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Spectro28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Eric - Plug Guy View Post
Assuming you have Bluetooth, pair the iPhone 4 to your PCM, and stream tunes - you will get both tunes and phone this way.

In most cases, when the phone is 'plugged' into a cable, it becomes an ipod only. So if you wanted to use the 3Gs as a slave ipod, disable its bluetooth.
How do you stream tunes over Bluetooth? I can't see a way to do it on my '10 C2S. iPhone 4 worse great over Bluetooth as a phone, and over the cable interface as an iPod, pausing playback when I get or make a call, but no Bluetooth streaming...

Thanks -
Marc
Spectro28 is offline  
Old 04-15-2011, 10:51 PM
  #6  
RED HORSE
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
RED HORSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SHV
Posts: 3,390
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

[QUOTE=Eric - Plug Guy;8474142]Assuming you have Bluetooth, pair the iPhone 4 to your PCM, and stream tunes - you will get both tunes and phone this way.

In most cases, when the phone is 'plugged' into a cable, it becomes an ipod only. So if you wanted to use the 3Gs as a slave ipod, disable its bluetooth.[/QUOTE

It worked. Disabling the blueetooth was the piece I was missing. Thanks.
RED HORSE is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 01:07 PM
  #7  
TooSixy
User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 404
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You can't stream Bluetooth audio just yet. Porsche still has not implemented that in PCM.
TooSixy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: