Sponsored by:

another IMS thread...newbie concerns

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2011, 06:50 PM
LEAKYSEALS951
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another IMS thread...newbie concerns

Hello, I am a newbie to the 997 crowd. I am considering buying a 2006 997s with 50,000+ miles , but just got the internet washing of multiple failures of ims. Evidently, the 2006 had a redesigned larger single bearing (which is good), but it cant be changed without splitting the crankcase (which is bad).

Basically, in your guys opinions... has IMS been an issue with 2006 or later models? and... how many miles do you guys have trouble free on your 2006 and 2007 models that havent shown trouble.

At this point, I cant see any fun in owning/buying the car is it might possibly fail at any moment, and the $17,000 quote from the dealer to replace the engine it doesn't seem promising.

Id almost rather get a 2005, and redo the IMS and RMS preventatively, as opposed to wait for the 2006 to fail. or... are there many people with high mileage 2006 and laters with high mileage and no problems? Any thoughts?

Ron
Old 02-28-2011, 07:15 PM
Edgy01
Poseur
Rennlist Member

Received 235 Likes on 128 Posts

My advice is that you are probably in good shape. One of the factors that we have learned about the IMS issue is that it is more likely manifested in a car with light miles. I have an 06 that I took delivery of in June 06. I have about 56,000 miles on it right now. I don't think I'll have an IMS issue, either. These cars like being driven, and that may be a factor.

The 996 has been seen to see this issue far more than the 997s. The 997 cars from MY05 carried over some of that. By 06 the problem appears less and less.
Old 02-28-2011, 07:35 PM
LEAKYSEALS951
Intermediate