Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Expert's Challenge: Headers or No Headers?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2010, 12:24 AM
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Expert's Challenge: Headers or No Headers?

Here's the deal: I'm new to the P-car world; bought in Dec a prestine CPO 2006 Cab, none 'S', 6 spd w/17,500 miles, midnight blue, tan interior, 19" Classics, Bose, seats, bi-zeon.
I'm not going to track it but will do DE, some skills driving and maybe autocross.
After reading this fourm and 6Speed for the last 4 months, the mods I want to do are as follows: AWE exhaust (I read that the AWE sound is less invasive at slower speeds; happy wife), the AWE or FabSpeed cats (both are 200 cell German sourced, so any real difference?) and Softronics ECM re-mapping.

So here's the challenge to the experts: I read that I may/will loose low speed torque by replaceing the OEM headers. Is this true? If it is not true, which headers would best suit my needs and why?
Old 04-02-2010, 12:51 AM
Edgy01
Poseur
Rennlist Member

Received 235 Likes on 128 Posts

I wouldn't change the headers at all. Generally you lose (note spelling) some torque when you open up the tube diameter from stock. I installed the X51 headers on my S a couple of years ago strictly for the noise. (I also had to clean up the welds on the inside of them first).
Old 04-02-2010, 01:01 AM
Track Day

Spelling noted, thanks, Spell Check won't load.
You are confirming my position, again thanks.
Old 04-02-2010, 04:38 AM
alexb76
Rennlist Member

Received 83 Likes on 60 Posts

Wish we could quantify this, there was a thread of base HP numbers before X51 header install... we never got the after-HP numbers!
Old 04-02-2010, 06:02 AM
royalpar1
Instructor

I have tubi headers, tubi exhaust,mufflers, tubi everything as well as a carbon fiber airbox, true f77 and a chip and its just awesome, the sound , the tourque, it allows me to await the 998
Old 04-02-2010, 06:13 PM
Verde
Advanced