Sponsored by:

To Targa or not to Targa

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2010, 10:18 AM
Frank A.
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To Targa or not to Targa

Hi all. I am new to the Pcars and to Rennlist. I am looking to purchase my first Porsche and I am having trouble deciding if I should go with the Targa or not. I will be purchasing pre-owned and I am looking at the 4S cars from 2006-2008. So, I would love to hear your thoughts about the pros and cons of purchasing the 4S as a Targa or not. Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Frank A.
Old 01-27-2010, 10:21 AM
utkinpol
Rennlist Member

Received 23 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by Frank A.
Hi all. I am new to the Pcars and to Rennlist. I am looking to purchase my first Porsche and I am having trouble deciding if I should go with the Targa or not. I will be purchasing pre-owned and I am looking at the 4S cars from 2006-2008. So, I would love to hear your thoughts about the pros and cons of purchasing the 4S as a Targa or not. Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Frank A.
A lot of people complain about rattling noises from glass roofs on Targas. Other than that - it is same 997 car as any other one.
Old 01-27-2010, 11:58 AM
Gj325
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Frank
I have a 2009 Targa 4S. I am now thinking about upgrading to a Turbo with PDK and everything I wish my Targa doesn't have now.

As for the Targa we bought mainly because we have pretty hot summers here in Memphis. To hot for my taste when 110 heat index for top down and I don't like the looks of a Cab. with the top up. The Targa gives you a nice open feeling without the look of the Cab.
Nothing better than a day with low 80's for a high and the top back.

I have 5000 miles on my Targa no rattling or leaks. The car doesn't get too hot AC works great nice sunscreen that works well also. I like the look of the Targa I would order another one if they made a Turbo Targa.